Haters

As a high school student this is something that I deal with quite frequently. Haters are typically people that do not wan to see you succeed. They want you to be happy when they receive something new, or have an improvement in their lives but when it comes to you they couldn’t care less about your progression in this world. I often further describe these individuals as “energy suckers”, these people feed off of your positivity therefore draining you. These haters or energy suckers come in many forms such as: family members, friends, acquaintances, and even peers. I am well aware that your friends are you peers but this is within a different context. Friends that are haters will be significantly less obvious about their intentions. While a peer may outwardly bully you and point out every flaw that they see on you.

I have plenty experiences with haters. But the most impactful would have to be the time that someone who I thought was my friend threw a full on temper tantrum because i made a decision to further my future. I decided to run for an important position that she had already ran for twice. Keep in mind that she failed these two times and absolutely did not want anyone else to have a shot at this position. I fought back and ran and received a position. The moral of the story is not only that some people aren’t truly your friend but also that sometimes you need to stand up against those who do not want to see you succeed. You have to fight for yourself. Because at the end of the day your haters don’t determine if you succeed. You do.

Leave a comment